Top Menu

Workshops

Morikami hosts workshops on diverse cultural arts taught by local and guest instructors. Workshops include taiko drumming, Japanese tea ceremony, sushi making, haiku and more.

  • Introductory Japanese Language Intensive Workshop - Part II

    About: All Nihongo courses provide an introduction to the Japanese language, writing system and Japanese culture.
    Dates: Saturday, February 14 & 28, 2015

    more details...

  • Basics of Sushi

    About: Explore the rich history of this Japanese dish in this hands-on workshop, as well as make – and eat – your very own sushi!
    Dates: Sunday, February 22, 2015
    Sunday, March 22, 2015

    more details...

  • Tea Ceremony Workshop

    About: Learn the basics of sado, “the way of tea.” Prerequisite for Tea Ceremony classes.
    Dates: Saturday, November 1, 2014
    Saturday, January 10, 2015
    Saturday, March 7, 2015

    more details...

  • The Way of Taiko: The Heartbeat of Japan

    About: Explore the origins of Japanese taiko, and learn to drum in this workshop taught by top performers from South Florida’s renowned Fushu Daiko.
    Dates: Sunday, January 25, 2015
    Sunday, March 8, 2015

    more details...

  • The Art of Bamboo Basket Making with Shōchiku Tanabe

    About: Learn the art of bamboo basket making from master artist Shōchiku Tanabe.
    Date: Tuesday, April 7, 2015

    more details...

  • Bon Odori Dance Workshop

    About: Learn the simple steps to Bon Odori, the traditional Japanese folk dance showcased at Obon, an iconic summer festival.
    Dates: Saturday, July 11, 2015
    Saturday, July 25, 2015

    more details...

Navigation