Special Programs

Morikami provides informative and unique experiences for all ages through its Special Programs. Here you will find educational and cultural programming related to our current exhibitions and all things Japan—lectures, films, performances, special events, and more!

All programs are open for registration on August 1st of each year for the upcoming season. Each season runs from October through the summer of the next year.

Explore each special programs page or browse the full list.

Calligraphy (Shodo) Performance Dance (Butoh) Performance Films Kite Fly Morikami Book Club Mori Stories Music (Koto) Performance Obon Weekend Orchid Weekend Speaker Series  Sunset Stroll Stroll for Well-Being A Taste of Asia Youth Music Camp

Experience the Morikami Gardens After-Hours
Sunset Stroll

VENDORS      September 12, 2024 Learn about Sake in a special presentation by Niigata Sake Selections 5:30pm - 8:00pm Tickets

5:30PM, Thursday, June 13, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
5:30PM, Thursday, September 12, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Experience the Garden Early
Member Morning Walks
Open to all Morikami Members

We are excited to announce the start of a unique program - Member Morning Walks. This is an exclusive opportunity for our valued members to experience the gardens in the calm of morning, before the hustle and bustle of the day begins. Every Wednesday and Friday, you can escape into the serene beauty of our lush …

9:00AM, Friday, June 14, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, June 19, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, June 21, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, June 26, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, June 28, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, July 3, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, July 5, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, July 10, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, July 12, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, July 17, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, July 19, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, July 24, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, July 26, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, July 31, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, August 7, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, August 9, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, August 14, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, August 16, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, August 21, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, August 23, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, August 28, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, August 30, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, September 4, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, September 6, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, September 11, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, September 13, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, September 18, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, September 20, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Wednesday, September 25, 2024
Morikami Gardens
9:00AM, Friday, September 27, 2024
Morikami Gardens
Father's Day Weekend
Special Discounts and Promotions

Special Membership Offer Buy, Gift or Renew a Morikami Membership during Father's Day Weekend for 13 months of membership! Become a Member Renew Your Membership Purchase in person for a free gift! This offer is only available from June 14 - 16, 2024, so don't miss out on the opportunity to become part of the Morikami family. *To renew, your …

10:00AM, Friday, June 14, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Saturday, June 15, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Sunday, June 16, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Children in Kimono playing Koto
Guest Artist Workshops
Youth Summer Music & Culture Camp
(Grade 3rd – 12th)

Campers will be immersed in Japanese culture participating in fun craft activities, Japanese cultural arts, and exciting music classes which include the 13-string koto (zither) and taiko drums, taught by professional musicians, Shirley Kazuyo Muramoto, Koto instructor and members from the Fushu Daiko Taiko group. All materials and Instruments that campers need are provided for their use at camp.

9:00AM, Monday, June 24, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Family Fun Day: Festival Fans
Summer is here, the time to go to festivals while keeping cool! Make a festive fan of your own for Independence Day.
12:00PM, Saturday, June 29, 2024
Kamiya Room (Classroom A)
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Family Fun Day: Tanabata
Make a wish for the Star Festival, Tanabata! Write your wish on a strip of colored paper, or tanzaku, and tie it to a branch of our Tanabata bamboo to celebrate.
10:00AM, Tuesday, July 2, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Wednesday, July 3, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Thursday, July 4, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Friday, July 5, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Saturday, July 6, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Sunday, July 7, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Family Fun Day: Mini Folding Screen
Make your own miniature Japanese paper folding screen to decorate your desk!
12:00PM, Saturday, July 20, 2024
Kamiya Room (Classroom A)
Educational Programming
Registration Opens for the NEW Season Today
All programs open for Registration and Ticket purchase(s).
The season runs from October of the present year through the summer of the following year. The season is available for registration and ticket purchases on August 1st every year.
10:00AM, Thursday, August 1, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Celebrate Obon Weekend at the Morikami
Obon Weekend
Enjoy live taiko drumming performances in the spirit of Obon
We invite guests to take a contemplative stroll through the gardens, enjoy live taiko drumming performances in the spirit of Obon, and pay their respects to George Morikami at the Bon altar.
10:00AM, Saturday, August 10, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
10:00AM, Sunday, August 11, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
6:30PM, Sunday, August 11, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Family Fun Day: Cicada Noisemaker
Cicadas, or semi in Japanese, are famous for their chorus of buzzing in the summer. Imitate their buzzing by making your own noisemaker!
12:00PM, Saturday, August 17, 2024
Kamiya Room (Classroom A)
Craft activities for kids of all ages.
Virtual Family Fun Days
Virtual craft activities for kids of all ages.
12:00AM, Saturday, August 31, 2024
Virtual
Tofu Day
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Family Fun Day: Shubun no Hi Flowers
Celebrate Shubun no Hi, the Autumn Equinox, with the flowers of the season in a tissue paper craft.
12:00PM, Sunday, September 22, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Educational Programming
NEW Season Starts Today
All programs open for Registration and Ticket purchase(s).
The season runs from October of the present year through the summer of the following year. The season is available for registration and ticket purchases on August 1st every year.
10:00AM, Tuesday, October 1, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Morikami Book Club
Open to all Morikami Members

Embark on a thrilling literary journey with Benefactor member Christine Carton and fellow Morikami members as they kick off a brand new season of riveting book explorations! To join the Morikami Book Club, please reach out to Christine Carton at christinec@gate.net. All meetings will be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 12 pm at …

12:00PM, Wednesday, October 16, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Hirohito and the making of Modern Japan: By Herbert P. Bix
12:00PM, Wednesday, November 13, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Before the coffee gets cold. By: Toshikazu Kawaguchi - Book 1- (5 book series)
12:00PM, Wednesday, December 11, 2024
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Kintsugi. By: Tomas Navarro
12:00PM, Wednesday, January 8, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Silent Parade. By: Keigo Higashino
12:00PM, Wednesday, February 12, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
A woman of pleasure. By Kiyoko Murata
12:00PM, Wednesday, March 12, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Stranger in the shogun’s city. By: Amy Stanley
12:00PM, Wednesday, April 9, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Honeybees and distant thunder. By: Riku Onda
12:00PM, Wednesday, May 14, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
African Samurai. By: Thomas Lockley
12:00PM, Wednesday, June 11, 2025
Morikami Museum & Japanese Gardens
Shutting out the sun; How Japan created its own lost generation. By: Michael Zielenziger
65kFollowers
10.9kFollowers
38kFollowers
114kTotal fans
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00
Share →
Send this to a friend