Family Fun

Discover Japanese culture with our Family Fun programs! These activities and workshops allow the whole family to enjoy and learn Japanese arts and crafts together, while learning about Japanese culture and customs.

Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun: Nengajō: New Year’s Cards
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Join us throughout the holiday season to create a nengajō, a Japanese New Year’s card, to share with friends and family.
10:00AM, Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Wednesday, December 18, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Thursday, December 19, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Friday, December 20, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Saturday, December 21, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Sunday, December 22, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Tuesday, December 24, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Thursday, December 26, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Friday, December 27, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Saturday, December 28, 2019
Lobby
10:00AM, Sunday, December 29, 2019
Lobby
Mori Stories: Kamishibai Folktales
Craft activity for kids of all ages
Bring the whole family and delve into the world of Japanese folklore or stories through kamishibai paper theater. Join us for a reading of these classic stories and learn more about the celebration of our festivals. Reading starts on the hour with a short related activity to follow.
1:00PM, Thursday, January 2, 2020
Classroom A
How the Years Were Named
1:00PM, Thursday, April 2, 2020
Classroom A
The Old Man Who Made the Trees Bloom
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Setsubun
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Held every February, Setsubun welcomes the arrival of spring and brings good luck for the New Year. Make a felt sushi roll, an ehomaki, traditionally eaten during Setsubun.
12:00PM, Saturday, February 1, 2020
Classroom A
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Friendship Purikura
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Purikura is a Japanese photo booth, where friends take customizable photos with many types of effects. Come get your photo taken and decorate your postcard-sized purikura to take home.
12:00PM, Saturday, March 7, 2020
Classroom A
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Mother’s Day Paper Bonsai
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Bonsai are small plants that look like miniature trees. Join us and make your own paper bonsai tree, just in time to celebrate the blooming woman in your life—Mom!
12:00PM, Sunday, May 10, 2020
Classroom A
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Father’s Day Samurai Sword
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Come make your own paper katana, a samurai sword. Make dad proud this year; pledge the sword and loyalty to your clan.
12:00PM, Sunday, June 21, 2020
Classroom A
Smiling cartoon stars
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Tanabata
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.

Make a wish for the Star Festival, Tanabata! Write your wish on a strip of colored paper, or tanzaku, and tie it to a branch of our Tanabata bamboo to celebrate.

10:00AM, Wednesday, July 1, 2020
Lobby
10:00AM, Thursday, July 2, 2020
Lobby
10:00AM, Friday, July 3, 2020
Lobby
10:00AM, Saturday, July 4, 2020
Lobby
10:00AM, Sunday, July 5, 2020
Lobby
10:00AM, Tuesday, July 7, 2020
Lobby
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Bug Origami
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
The tradition of searching and identifying bugs outside is a popular summer activity for many Japanese children. Join us for some critter fun, as we make origami butterflies, cicada, and more in the spirit of this popular Japanese summer pastime.
12:00PM, Saturday, August 1, 2020
Classroom A
Craft activity for kids of all ages.
Family Fun Day: Shūbun no Hi
FREE with paid museum admission. (Unless otherwise specified) Pre-registration is not required.
Make your own firework portrait for Shūbun no Hi, the Autumn Equinox, and learn some Japanese calligraphy for the start of fall.
12:00PM, Saturday, September 12, 2020
Classroom A
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00

Welcome to the new Morikami.org!

Current members please
re-register here
Share →

Send this to a friend