Shibori Indigo Workshop

Shibori Indigo Workshop DATE  Saturday, November 4, 2017 TIME   10:00am to 3:00pm LOCATION   Oki Education Center PRICE  $50 MATERIAL FEE  $20 (cash payable to the instructor) *Advance ticket purchase required ABOUT THE WORKSHOP The use of indigo dye, or aizome, has a long and cherished history in Japan. The deep blue colors for which Japanese textiles are celebrated come from the leaves of the tade ai, a plant introduced to Japan from China in the sixth century. Shibori is a Japanese technique of manual resist dyeing used to make patterns on fabrics. Learn …

Read moreShibori Indigo Workshop

Block Printing Workshop

Block Printing Workshop 10:30AM, Sunday, December 10, 2017 Google iCalendar ($50 Workshop fee – $10 Material fee paid to instructor)

Calligraphy: Children’s Mini-Workshop

Calligraphy: Children’s Mini-Workshop 11:30AM, Saturday, June 9, 2018 Google iCalendar ($20 workshop fee – $5 material fee) 11:30AM, Saturday, July 7, 2018 Google iCalendar ($20 workshop fee – $5 material fee) 11:30AM, Saturday, August 4, 2018 Google iCalendar ($20 workshop fee – $5 material fee)

THE WAY OF TAIKO: THE HEARTBEAT OF JAPAN

THE WAY OF TAIKO: THE HEARTBEAT OF JAPAN Taiko Drum Workshop     11:00AM, Sunday, January 28, 2018 Google iCalendar from $50 11:00AM, Sunday, March 18, 2018 Google iCalendar from $50

Koto Workshop

Koto Workshop 10:30AM, Saturday, October 14, 2017 Google iCalendar 10:30AM, Saturday, December 16, 2017 Google iCalendar 10:30AM, Saturday, February 10, 2018 Google iCalendar

Japanese Traditional Music Program

Japanese Traditional Music Program 9:00AM, Monday, June 19, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Monday, June 19, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Monday, June 19, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Wednesday, June 21, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Wednesday, June 21, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Wednesday, June 21, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Thursday, June 22, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Friday, June 23, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Friday, June 23, 2017 Google iCalendar 1:30PM, Friday, June 23, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Saturday, June 24, 2017 Google iCalendar 9:00AM, Saturday, June 24, …

Read moreJapanese Traditional Music Program

NIHONGO: JAPANESE INTENSIVE WORKSHOP III

NIHONGO: JAPANESE INTENSIVE WORKSHOP III 1:00PM, Saturday, March 11, 2017 Google iCalendar ($90 – $100) 1:00PM, Saturday, April 8, 2017 Google iCalendar ($90 – $100)

NIHONGO: JAPANESE INTENSIVE WORKSHOP KANJI

NIHONGO: JAPANESE INTENSIVE WORKSHOP KANJI 1:00PM, Saturday, January 28, 2017 Google iCalendar ($90 – $100) 1:00PM, Saturday, February 11, 2017 Google iCalendar ($90 – $100) 1:00PM, Saturday, March 10, 2018 Google iCalendar from $90

THE ART OF JAPANESE FABRIC WRAPPING

THE ART OF JAPANESE FABRIC WRAPPING DATE  Saturday, January 13, 2018 TIME  1:30pm – 3:00pm LOCATION   Oki Education Center PRICE   $35  Material Fee: $10 (cash payable to the instructor) *Advance ticket purchase required   ABOUT THE CLASS A square reusable wrapping cloth is called a furoshiki in Japan. People have used furoshiki since the 16th century in a variety of ways to wrap different sized and shaped objects. Learn how to wrap a wine bottle, a watermelon, books, and make a tote bag from a furoshiki. Each participant will take home the cotton wrap …

Read moreTHE ART OF JAPANESE FABRIC WRAPPING

Navigation