Top Menu

Family Fun

Discover Japanese culture with our Family Fun programs! These activities and workshops allow the whole family to enjoy and learn Japanese arts and crafts together, while learning about Japanese culture and customs.

Tattoo Day & Symposium
10:00AM, Saturday, February 27, 2016

In conjunction with our new exhibition, Perseverance: Japanese Tattoo Tradition in a Modern World, Morikami is proud to present a Tebori demonstration and panel presentation featuring artists: Ryudaibori (formerly known as Horitaka), Horitomo, Kip Fulbeck, Chris Nuñez and moderated by Greg Kimura, CEO of JANM.

Family Fun: Mommy & Me Kamishibai Story Telling
10:30AM, Wednesday, March 9, 2016
10:30AM, Wednesday, April 13, 2016

view more event dates

10:30AM, Wednesday, May 11, 2016

Family Fun: Origami
12:00PM, Saturday, March 26, 2016

Learn how to make a simple paper origami to take home with you! EVENT DETAILS Saturday, March 26, 2016 12pm-3pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required.  

Family Fun: Mom & Kids' Craft
12:00PM, Sunday, May 8, 2016

Celebrate both Mother’s Day and Children’s Day (May 5th in Japan) with a craft activity! EVENT DETAILS Sunday, May 8, 2016 12pm-3pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required.  

Family Fun: Father's Day Fish Printing
12:00PM, Sunday, June 19, 2016

Learn to artistically capture some local Florida fish with the traditional Japanese fish printing technique called gyotaku. EVENT DETAILS Sunday, June 19, 2016 12pm-3pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required.  

Family Fun: Make a Tanabata Wish
10:00AM, Thursday, June 30, 2016
10:00AM, Friday, July 1, 2016

view more event dates

10:00AM, Saturday, July 2, 2016
10:00AM, Sunday, July 3, 2016
10:00AM, Monday, July 4, 2016
10:00AM, Tuesday, July 5, 2016
10:00AM, Wednesday, July 6, 2016
10:00AM, Thursday, July 7, 2016

 EVENT DETAILS June 30-July 7 from 10am - 5pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required. Join us for Family Fun to celebrate Tanabata - Japan's star festival! Kids (and adults!) will learn about Tanabata, and make a wish to hang on our bamboo "trees." Tanabata, traces its origins to a legend about the …

Family Fun: Paper Cut Craft
12:00PM, Saturday, August 6, 2016

Create a kirigami (cut paper) design, in conjunction with the current exhibit, Shadows of the Floating World: Paper Cuts by Hiromi Moneyhun. EVENT DETAILS Saturday, August 6, 2016 12pm-3pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required.  

Family Fun: Uchiwa (fan making)
12:00PM, Saturday, September 10, 2016

Create your own Japanese uchiwa (flat fan) to cool you down as you explore Roji-en! EVENT DETAILS Saturday, September 10, 2016 12pm-3pm Family Fun days are FREE with paid museum admission. Pre-registration is not required.  

Navigation